How to remove iCloud

How to remove iCloud

Home 9 Category: Cloud Migration

How to remove iCloud

Use these steps to remove your personal information from a device.
Unfortunately, we cannot accept any device that is locked to an iCloud account.
You will need to remove your account before sending your device to us.

iOS Devices

Before you sell or give away your device, you should remove your personal information. You shouldn’t manually delete your contacts, calendars, reminders, documents, photo streams, or any other iCloud data while you’re signed in to iCloud with your Apple ID. This would delete your content from the iCloud servers and any of your devices signed in to iCloud.

Follow these steps:

  1. If you paired an Apple Watch with your iPhone, unpair your Apple Watch.
  2. Back up your iOS device.
  3. Tap Settings > iCloud (Fig. A). Scroll down and tap Sign Out. In iOS 7 or earlier, tap Delete Account
  4. Tap Sign Out again (Fig. B), then tap Delete from My iPhone and enter your password.
  5. Go back to Settings and tap General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings (Fig. C). If you turned on
    Find My iPhone, you might need to enter your Apple ID and password.
  6. If asked for your device passcode or Restrictions passcode, enter it. Then tap Erase [device].

*When you tap Erase All Content and Settings, it completely erases your device, including any credit or debit cards you
added for Apple Pay and any photos, contacts, music, or apps. It will also turn off iCloud, iMessage, FaceTime, Game
Center, and other services. Your content won’t be deleted from iCloud when you erase your device.

How to remove iCloud

Mac Devices

When you are ready to trade in your Mac, there are some steps you should take. You’ll want to back up your computer, disable some features and services, and erase the hard drive.

  1. Create a backup – Be sure you have an up-to-date backup of your important files and data. Learn how to back up your data in OS X.
  2. Sign out of iTunes – Open iTunes. From the menu bar at the top of your computer screen or at the top of the iTunes window, choose Account > Authorisations > Deauthorise This Computer (Fig. A). When prompted, enter your Apple ID and password (Fig. B). Then click Deauthorize.
  3. Sign out of iCloud – If you use Find My Mac or other iCloud features on your Mac, you should first archive or make copies of your iCloud data. After that, choose Apple Menu > System Preferences, click iCloud, and then deselect the Find My Mac checkbox (Fig. C).
  4. Finally, sign out of iCloud. In System Preferences, click iCloud, and then click the Sign Out button (Fig. D). When you sign out of iCloud, you’re asked whether you want to remove iCloud data from your Mac. Your iCloud data wil remain on any other devices that are using the same Apple ID.
  5. Sign out of iMessage – If you’re using OS X Mountain Lion or later, sign out of iMessage. In the Messages app, choose Preferences > Accounts. Select your iMessage account, then click Sign Out.
WARNING! Do not delete any data manually while signed into iCloud, as this will remove the content from your iCloud account and any linked devices .